Summer carnivals commenced in 1921 as a fund raising event for the Hospital.
  A Carnival Queen was elected for the first time in 1935 and for the next half century
  this was a much sought after honour before differing social attitudes among young
  women resulted in a lack of willing entries for the contest after 1985.
       YEAR             QUEEN                       ATTENDANTS  
  1935 Nina Willcocks Maud Williams Nora Crout  
  1936 Florence Loram Mary Cuming Monica Loram  
  1937 Maisie Endacott Betty Prowse Susie Webber  
  1938 Agnes Banbury Edna Wright Barbara Moore  
  1939 Joan Butler Mrs Lena Underhill Mavis Doney  
  1945 Doreen Hill Sylvia Wotton Evelyn Aggett  
  1946 Jean Huish Amy Brown Amy Luxton  
  1947 Evelyn Aggett Amy Luxton Joan Brimblecombe  
  1948 Amy Luxton Mary Bryan Monica Crump  
  1949 Dorothy Partridge Kathleen Archer Jeanette Pike & Margaret Floyd
  1950 Yvonne Perring Audrey Stevens Betty Brimblecombe  
  1951 Phyllis Crout Sylvia White Jean Eva  
  1952 Rona Rowcliffe Edith Floyd Yvonne Norrish  
  1953 Barbara Brimblecombe  Jennifer West Audrey Stevens  
  1954 Doris Yeoman Pearl Hill Margaret Peardon  
  1955 Edith Floyd Yvonne Norrish Margaret Peardon  
  1956 Doreen Floyd Mary Curnow Pearl Hill  
  1957 Shirley Aggett Margaret Peardon Joyce Clapp  
  1958 Mrs Margaret Chudley Mary Reddaway Wendy Creese  
  1959 Susan Burwash Christine Aggett Julie Dodd  
  1960 Jeanette Cherrington Barbara Bell Christine Aggett  
  1961 Valerie Brock Gillian Burnett Marilyn Aggett  
  1962 Pauline Brooks Marilyn Aggett Geraldine Stevens  
  1963 Mrs Margaret Chudley Mary Reddaway Janet Underhill  
  1964 Shirley Powlesland Elizabeth Wordsworth Elizabeth Taylor  
  1965 Shirley Reddaway Patricia Yeoman Elizabeth Taylor  
  1966 Shirley Powlesland Rosie Aggett Audrey Chisholm  
  1967 Elizabeth Taylor Jean Avery Carol Reeman  
  1968 Rosie Aggett Elizabeth Marley Ann Sharp  
  1969 Christine Lampkin Pauline Brock Jillian Aggett  
  1970 Susan Chudley Ann Marie Evans Jean Avery  
  1971 Sharron Duff Kathryn Carroll ?  
  1972 Ann Yeoman Ann Marie Evans Rose Quick  
  1973 Mrs Elizabeth Williams Kathryn Carroll Linda Chudley  
  1974 Vicki Avery Shirley Cottle Elizabeth Roberts  
  1975 Ruth Peardon Marion Chudley Hazel Chudley  
  1976 Barbara Tindall Carol Hill Hazel Chudley  
  1977 Julie Willcocks Hazel Chudley Tina Hands  
  1978 Melissa Piggott Tracey Jones Susan Wills  
  1979 Lesley Hill Anne Perring Gina Gay  
  1980 Debbie Kerslake  
  1981 Nicola Wills Mandy Battershall Julie Richardson  
  1982 Carla Matthews Sharon Muldrew Mandy Battershall  
  1983 Mandy Battershall Kirsty Reynolds  
  1984 Belinda Browning Hayley Browning